Board of Directors

Ultimate responsibility for the National Athletic Trainers’ Association Research & Education Foundation (NATA Foundation) rests with the Board of Directors, as recognized by both state and federal statute. The Board is the primary force pressing the NATA Foundation to the realization of its opportunities for service and the fulfillment of its obligations to all its constituencies.

The Chief Officer of the Board of Directors is the President.  The Board Executive Committee consists of the Board President and 5 elected Vice Presidents:  the Vice President of Development; the Vice President of Research Programs; the Vice President of Finance; the Vice President of Operations and the Vice President of Education and Professional Development Programs.  The Executive Committee members may serve two (2) consecutive two (2) year terms.

The Board has 11 District Chairs, representing the 11 districts of the National Athletic Trainer Association (NATA).  The District Chairs should be individuals who are, or have been, active in their respective NATA districts, are known to and supported by the district and state leadership and the general membership of that district. District representatives to the Board of Directors may serve two (2) consecutive three (3) year terms.

Currently, there can be up to 3 At Large Director positions on the board.  This position is generally intended for those individuals who can bring special skills, relationships and/or a broad outreach in the athletic training profession. At-large representatives should be those with a history of service, experience and influence within various aspects of NATA, the athletic training profession and athletic health care.  At Large members of  the Board of Directors may serve two (2) consecutive three (3) year terms.

Please consider volunteering with the NATA Foundation! ⁠
The NATA Research & Education Foundation creates, fosters, and advances a culture that values diversity, equity, and inclusion in all its activities.  Our stakeholders come from all walks of life and so should we.  We want committed people from a wide variety of backgrounds involved with the Foundation’s leadership and programs.  Our mission and stakeholders are best served when people bring a variety of views and backgrounds together to advance our strategic priorities.

The Foundation is seeking to fill board vacancies with terms beginning June 2023.  Applications will be accepted September 6 – October 6, 2022 for the following positions:

  • Vice President, Finance
  • Vice President, Research Programs
  • District 11 Chair
  • Up to 2 At-Large Directors (all At-Large positions are not required to be elected/filled)

In addition, there are 6 board positions with incumbents eligible and desiring to be re-elected for a second term beginning June 2023.  However, per the Foundation’s policies and procedures, additional applications will be accepted for consideration.  The 6 positions are:

  • President
  • Vice President, Development
  • Vice President, Operations
  • Chairs for Districts 5, 7, 8

Application packet can be viewed here including instructions how to apply and a description of BOD positions included in this call for applications.

Executive Committee
District Chairs
At-Large Directors
Past Presidents

Kenneth “Ken” Cameron PhD, MPH, ATC, CSCS, FNATA
President 2023 (1)






Robert “Bob” Casmus, MS, LAT, ATC
Vice President, Operations 2023 (1)






Joe Hart, PhD, ATC
Vice President, Research Programs, 2023 (2)






Edward  “Ed” Lacerte,
Vice President, Finance 2023 (1)






Jill Manners, ScD, LAT, ATC, PT, COMT
Vice President, Development, 2023 (1)






Kavin Tsang, PhD, ATC 
Vice President, Education & Professional Development Programs, 2024 (2)



Jennifer “Jen” Sturtevant, MBA, LAT, ATC
District 1 Chair, 2024 (1)




A.J. Duffy III,
District 2 Chair, 2025 (1)




Martin “Marty” Baker, MS, LAT, ATC
District 3 Chair, 2025 (2)





Mitsue “Alice” Wilcoxson, PhD, PT, LAT, ATC
District 4 Chair, 2025 (1) 


Greg Gardner,
District 5 Chair, 2023 (1) 




Keith Jones, ATC
District 6 Chair, 2025 (1)



Michelle Gonzalez,
District 7 Chair, 2023 (1) 




Ky Kugler, EdD, ATC
District 8 Chair, 2023 (1) 

Mike Van Bruggen,

District 9 Chair, 2024 (2)

Bill Drake,

District 10 Chair, 2024 (2)




Mark Gibson, MSEd, MS ATC, PT
District 11 Chair, 2023 (1)


Dawn Emerson,
At Large Director, 2024 (2)





Robert (Bob) Gray, MS, ATC
At Large Director, 2023 (1) 

Eric McDonnell

At Large Director, 2023 (2)





Brian E. Conway, LAT, ATC



Robert T. “R.T.” Floyd,


Mark Hoffman, PhD, ATC

Michael Sitler, PhD, ATC

Christopher Ingersoll, PhD, ATC

Marjorie Albohm, MS, ATC

Ronnie P. Barnes, ATC

John W. Powell, PhD, ATC


*For each current board member, the year immediately after their listed position is the end of their current term.  The number in parentheses indicates the current term number being served.