The Bill Chambers Scholarship Endowment (District 8)

ABOUT THE ENDOWMENT:

The Bill Chambers Scholarship Endowment (Sponsored by District 8), established in 2012, provides an annual scholarship of \$2,300 to a qualified entry-level or master's athletic training student from District 8.

ABOUT BILL CHAMBERS:

Bill Chambers, an early member of the NATA, helped build the Association through his service and leadership. Bill served two terms as NATA president, chaired four national meetings and is credited with raising more than two million dollars for student athletic trainer national scholarships. He was a charter member of both the Far West Athletic Trainers' Association (FWATA) and the California Community College Athletic Trainers' Association (CCCATA), and served two terms as president of the FWATA. Bill was inducted into the FWATA Hall of Fame, the California Community College Athletic Association Hall of Fame and, in 1986, became the first junior college athletic trainer to be inducted into the NATA Hall of Fame.

Bill's athletic training career began as a student under Ken Rawlinson at the University of Oklahoma. He became the head athletic trainer at Fullerton College and retired from that position in 2000.

During his tenure at Fullerton College, he was voted National Junior College Athletic Trainer of the Year five times between 1977 and 1982. In 1986, he received the National Football Foundation Award for his dedication and service to the profession of athletic training. Bill was also inducted into the Fullerton College Athletics Hall of Fame in 2008.

Though retired, Bill remains active within the profession and the NATA. He continues to serve in leadership positions in various organizations within the field of athletic training and is involved in rodeo and motor sports.

Scholarship Recipients:

- 2023 Rakhoon Sung, California State University Long Beach
- 2022 Jonathan Dickey, Azusa Pacific University
- 2021 Melissa Ramos, California Baptist University
- 2020 Sheldon Victorine, University of Hawaii Manoa
- 2019 Oscar Lopez-Huerta, University of Nevada Las Vegas
- 2018 Kristyne Wiegand, University of Nevada Las Vegas
- 2017 Madison Madewell, University of LaVerne
- 2016 Jesse Williams, California State University Fullerton
- 2015 Brenda Valdez Nava, California State University Fullerton
- 2014 Michael Gregory, California State University Fullerton
- 2013 Jack Sessions, California State University Fullerton

Status: ENDOWED Commitment: \$50,050 Amount Received: \$50,050

Donors:

District 8

California Athletic Trainers' Association