Great Lakes Athletic Trainers' Association Scholarship Endowment



ABOUT THE ENDOWMENT: The Great Lakes Athletic Trainers' Association Scholarship Endowment, established in 2009, currently has four endowed scholarships managed by the NATA Research & Education Foundation. These endowments provide annual scholarships of \$2,300 to qualified athletic training students from GLATA, in Entrylevel, Masters, and Doctoral programs.

Status: ENDOWED

Commitment: \$170,000

Amount Received: \$170,000

Individual Donors:

Robert S. Gray

Chaerine (Katie) Grove

Roger Kalisiak

Justin Miller

Sally Nogle

Paul Plummer

Ralph Reiff

Paul Schmidt

William Sullivan

Craig Voll

Donor Organizations:

Indiana Athletic Trainers' Association Michigan Atheltic Trainers' Association Minnesota Athletic Trainers' Association NATA District 4 University of Wisconsin – Eau Claire

GLATA Living William E. "Pinky" Newell Scholarships



Willaim "Pinky" Newell was Purdue Universtiyg's chief athletic trainer from 1949-76; he also was an assistant professor at Purdue. Acknowledged as the Father of NATA, he was Executive Secretary for more than a decade, and many subsequent leaders credited him for their success. A former football player for the Boilermakers and 1947 graduate, Mr. Newell served as an athletic trainer at the 1976 and 1980 Olympics and coordinated all athletic training coverage for the 1984 Olympics. He was inducted into the NATA Hall of Fame in 1972.

Undergraduate Recipients:

2023	Alexis Branham, Purdue University
2022	Alexis Branham, Purdue University
2021	Chloe Davis, Purdue University
2020	Madison McWethy, Michigan State University
2019	Estefania Zavala, Lewis University
2018	Arick Crecelius, Indiana State University
2017	Kiley Buchanan, Capital University
2016	Andrea Patterson, UW Madison
2015	Lena Grunloh, Indiana State University
2014	Eden Embree, University of Indianapolis
2013	Kellen Scott, College of Mount St. Joseph
2012	Jeanette Limberg, UW Stevens Point
2011	Alison Reddick, Grand Valley State University

Graduate Recipients:

2023	Stefanie Podock, North Central College
2022	Elaine Reiche, Michigan State University
2021	David Sherman, University of Toledo
2020	Jessica Carr, Indiana University
2019	Alexis Yelland, Western Michigan University
2018	Victoria Swipas, Miami University
2017	Mary Joos, Bethel University
2016	Jenna Newmann, Indiana University
2015	Jennifer Huston, Kent State University
2014	Megan Quinlevan, University of Toledo
2013	Michelle McLeod, University of Toledo
2012	Kelly Potteiger, Rocky Mountain University
2011	Hayley Ericksen, University of Toledo

GLATA Living Memorial Graduate Scholarship:

Scholarship Recipients:

- 2023 Alec Burton, University of Indianapolis
- 2022 Francesca Genoese, Michigan State University
- 2021 Kim Barber Foss, Rocky Mountain University of Health Professions
- 2020 Caroline Fleming, Adrian College
- 2019 Katilin Grapes, Winona State University
- 2018 Erin Arnas, Winona State University
- 2017 Angela Wirsching, Indiana University
- 2016 Eric Post, UW Madison
- 2015 Noah Thaman, Indiana University
- 2014 Shinichiro Sugiura, University of Toledo
- 2013 Ashley Thrasher, Ball State University
- 2012 Alyssa McPherson, Indiana University
- 2011 Michelle Lamb, Ball State University
- 2010 Janet Simon, Ohio University

Denny and Linda Miller Scholarship



Denny Miller was named director of sports medicine for the Purdue athletic training program in July of 2000 after a 24 year stint as head athletic trainer. Before that, he served four years as an assistant athletic trainer. Miller also is director of the Physical Therapy Department of the Purdue Student Health Center.

In June of 1996, Miller completed four years as president of NATA. He also is a former president of the Great Lakes Athletic Trainers Association. He currently is chair of a NATA task force to develop and recommend standards for health care for intercollegiate athletes. Miller was inducted into the NATA Hall of Fame in June of 2001.

Scholarship Recipients:

2023 Ryan Piper, University of Cincinnati2022 Justin Wagler, University of Michigan

2021 Audrey Sexter, The College of St. Scholastica

Status: Endowed.
Commitment: \$50,000