District 10 Scholarship Endowment (Honoring Mark J. Smaha, MS, ATC)



ABOUT THE ENDOWMENT: The District 10 Scholarship Endowment honoring Mark Smaha, MS, ATC, established in 2009, provides an annual scholarship of \$2,300 to a qualified athletic training student, with preference to students from District 10.

ABOUT MR. SMAHA: Mark Smaha, an Iowa native, started his career in 1967 at Iowa State University. After receiving his BS in 1970, he went on to Marshall University in West Virginia as the assistant athletic trainer. In 1970, a tragic airplane crash killed 75 people including Marshall's football team, athletic personnel and boosters. This led to Mr. Smaha assuming the responsibilities of the head athletic trainer. While at Marshall, he finished his MS degree in 1972 and moved to the University of Washington to join a research team in studying athletic injuries at the high school level. While working for the University of Washington and Interlake High School as a teacher and athletic trainer, he co-authored a book on athletic training. Mr. Smaha later became the head athletic trainer for the University of Idaho in 1975, and then the head athletic trainer for Washington State University (1978), and later its Director of Athletic Medicine.

Mr. Smaha's accomplishments include serving the NATA as Secretary/Treasurer of District 10 (NWATA) (1979), Director/President of NWATA (1982), Vice-President of the NATA (1986), President of the NATA (1988-1992), three President's Commendations for Life Saving Emergencies, a nomination for the NCAA Award of Valor (1982), NATA Most Distinguished Athletic Trainer Award (1994), and inducted into the NATA Hall of Fame in 1997 and the Northwest Athletic Trainers Hall of Fame in 1998. As NATA president, he guided the association through economic challenges and changes in staff leadership. Currently he is a consultant within his own company, MJS Communications.

Scholarship Recipients:

2023	Jacqueline Oropeza, Pacific University
2022	Hannah Boutwell, The University of Idaho
2021	TediJo Todd, University of Montana
2020	Ryan Clark, University of Idaho
2019	Jennifer McCaw, Idaho State University
2018	Hailie Cowdell, Idaho State University
2017	Kathleen Olson, University of Montana
2016	Amelia Meigs, Saint Louis University
2015	Kalyn Hasenoehrl, University of Idaho
2014	Tyrel Nelson, Boise State University
2013	Jordan Bigam, Oregon State University
2012	Reed Omdal, Washington State University
2011	Kiri Weeks, University of Montana
2009	Christopher Neumann, Oregon State University

Status: ENDOWED
Commitment: \$50,000
Amount Received: 50,000

Individual Donors:

Patricia Archer Stephanie Hiortedal Russell Richardson Pam Arriola Jonathan Huwe Scott Richter Barb Russell Danielle Baker Michelle Jones Craig Bennett Chuck Kimmel Michael Sandago Kenneth Kladnik Dale Blair **Todd Sandberg Dustin Burton** Thomas Koto, Jr Schott Shaw **David Charlton** Matsuye Koto Brenda Shelden Mark Smaha Geoffrey W. Clark Brian Krabak Nicole Clark-Vega **Bonnie Smith** Chris Lange Bill Drake Melinda Larson Tyler Smith Jason Durocher Tara Lepp **Thomas Spencer** Karen Dyste Michael F. Litke Barrie Steele David Stricklin Tom Embree Marilyn Mangus Mike Fine Martin Matney **Eric Taylor** Jolene Fisher Valerie Moody **Edwin Tingstad** Tony Fitzpatrick Tori Noda Jody Treadway

Nicholas Gallotto Benton Norwood Mike & Danielle Utley Robert E. Grams Suzette Nynas James (Jim) Wallis Dana Gunter Brian Oelke James Whitesel Jacqueline Williams Katie Ham Rick O'Learv Janelle Handlos Forrest Pecha Cari Wood Andrew Wright

Chadron Hazelbaker Katy Pietz
Kasee Hildenbrand Trevor Reed
Greg Hill Kyle V. Reeves

Donor Organizations:

Alaska Athletic Trainers' Association
Idaho Athletic Trainers' Association
Oregon Athletic Trainers' Association
Montana Athletic Trainers' Association
NATA District 10/NW Athletic Trainers' Association
University of Montana Athletic Training Students' Association
Washington Athletic Trainers' Association