Jack Rockwell Scholarship Endowment (Sponsored by District 8)


About the Endowment:
The Jack Rockwell Scholarship Endowment (Sponsored by District 8), established in 2009, provides an annual scholarship of $2,300 to a qualified athletic training student from District 8.
About Mr. Rockwell:
Founding NATA member Jack Rockwell combined his academic, athletic training and business experience into a fruitful career. Mr. Rockwell got his start as an assistant at Kansas and later became a head athletic trainer with the St. Louis Cardinals football team. Active in NATA, he was the association’s Executive Secretary from 1968-71, guiding efforts surrounding certification. He was inducted to the NATA Hall of Fame in 1977.

Scholarship Recipients:
2017         Nicholas Hattrup, California State University, Fullerton
2016         not awarded
2015         Nysa Allen, University of La Verne
2014         Alissa Huerta, California State University at Long Beach
2013         Laura Garcia, Chapman University
2012         Kayla Heath, Chapman University
2011         Ariel Guldstrand, University of La Verne
2010         Maria Rivera, University of Hawaii at Manoa
2009         Dianna Gritters, Chapman University
2008         Hajime Takashima, Wichita State University

Status:  ENDOWED
Commitment:  $55,000
Amount Received:  $55,000

Individual Donors:

Aaron Bennett
Jason Bennett
Charles Bidwell
Cash Birdwell
Dewey & Sarah Blair
Robert & Ada Branstetter
Barbara Buck
Richard Chambers
June & Bill Court
John & Patricia Crocker
Charles & Frances De La Forest
Ursula Eden
Alice Fielder
Lauren Forsyth
Larry Gardner
Naomi Guttormsen
Shirley Hamilton
Leo Hayward
Fred Hesemeyer
Robert & Doris Hulbert
Kathleen Kane
Robert Kersey
Robert Kirkland
Heather Klassen
David Knoeppel
Ky E. Kugler
Samuel Y.C. Lee
Jerry Lewis
Luis Leom
Helaine Lopes
Sarah Lyons
Julie Max
Jason Mcamey
J. Lindsy McLean
Angus McPhee
Chuck & Peggy Mendenhall
Veronica Mondaca
William & Candace Nesheim
Chase Michael Paulson
Sigrid Pederson
Joi Richardson
Robert & Marijane Rietow
Scott Sailor
Jean Schulz
Jo Silken
Barbara Sparrow
John & Darien Speight
Jane & Lawrence Storbo
George Sullivan
Donna M. Vidmar
Bonnie & Philip Wigen
Linda D. Youberg
Paul Zeek

Donor Organizations:

California Athletic Trainers’ Association
California Baptist University
Far West Athletic Trainers’ Association
Lindenwood University
Mid-America Athletic Trainers’ Association
NATA District 8
Oakmont Kiwanis Club
Paul T. Johnson Physical Therapy