District 3 Master’s Research Grant


About the Endowment:
The District 3 Master’s Research Grant Endowment was initiated by former NATA Foundation District 3 Chair Bob Casmus, MS, ATC, LAT (2005-2011), to promote, facilitate and fund athletic training research conducted by young investigators from District 3. When fully funded, this endowment will provide a research grant of $1,000 annually to a qualified master’s level student enrolled in a college/university in District 3.


About Funding the Endowment:
When Mr. Casmus started this endowment, he felt it was important that the students who will ultimately benefit be part of the fundraising efforts. He has worked diligently to secure pledges and donations from the CAATE Accredited Athletic Training Programs in District 3, along with other supportive donors, on annual basis. Mr. Casmus challenged each District 3 accredited program to pledge $750 over a 5 year span to fund this endowment. The programs that have committed to the effort are raising funds through their athletic training student clubs and organizations.

Thanks to Mr. Casmus’ vision and stewardship, the student researchers in his district will benefit in perpetuity from the generosity of the students who came before them.


Research Grant Recipients

2015- -Jason Cline, University of North Carolina at Charlotte , “Mitigating Fatigue with Kinesio Tex Tape in those with Chronic Ankle Instability”
2014 – Chyrsten Regelski, ATC Old Dominion University, “Assessment of Parent Knowledge of Roles and Responsibilities of Athletic Trainers in the High School Setting”


Commitment: $25,000
Amount Received: $25,000
Total Needed to Endow: $0

Individual Donors:

Richard Adams
Patricia Aronson
James Bazluki
Joseph Beckett
John Bielawski
Marty Bradley
Robert Cable
Robert Casmus
Matthew Comeau
Bill Curran
Katherine Dieringer
Michael Eden
Susan Edkins
Dawn Emerson
Michael Eubank
James Everett
Deborah Fischi
Amy Fraley
Doug Gregory
Megan Ivy Hammonds
Jolene Henning
Brittany Iseminger
Scott Johnson
Kevin King
Lisa Kluchurosky
Lisa Koperna
Patrick Lamboni
Robert Liebau
John Lopez
Erin Ludwig
Robert Lynall
Sam Malone
Jill Manners
Linda Mazzoli
Tracy McCallister
Courtney McDonough
Edward Metzger
Jason Mihalik
Jessica Mohler
Ryan Molony
T.J. Morgan
Matt Nein
Perry Nickelston
Terry O’Brien
Gregory Penczek
Brian Perez
Jean Perez
Patricia Ponce
William Prentice
Randall Pridgen
Melanie Rains
Joshua Ratliff
John Reynolds
Gary Rizza
Martin Sataloff
James Scifers
Rachel Sharpe
Catherine Simonson
Wayne Smith
Carla Stoddard
Caroline Taylor
Kyle Thompson
Thomas Tisdale
Jeannie Wakelyn
Nevada Watson
Brian Weatherly
Mark White
Erik Wikstrom


Other Donors:

*Appalachian State University
*Barton College
*Campbell University
*Catawba College
Charleston Southern University
College of Charleston
East Carolina University
Emory & Henry College
Erskine College
Frostburg State University
Gardner-Webb University
Greensboro College
*James Madison University
*Lenoir-Rhyne University
*Limestone College
*Lynchburg College
Mars Hill College
Methodist College
*Salisbury University
Towson University
*University of Charleston
*UNC, Chapel Hill
UNC, Charlotte
UNC, Greensboro
UNC, Pembroke
UNC, Wilmington
*Western Carolina University
*West Virginia University
*West Virginia Wesleyan
*Wingate University
NATA District 3
North Carolina Athletic Trainers’ Association
Virginia Athletic Trainers’ Association

*Schools that have completed their pledges